Following my investigations into modern geometric precedent, I decided the next step was to begin experimenting with the relationship of geometry and type, therefore the use of geometry within letter forms.

As previously detailed, I prefer to work in a manner by which I assess the previous foundation for my experimentation to ensure I can build upon the discoveries of other designers and also prevent repetition.

Firstly using the primary geometric shapes (circle, square and triangle) a task was undertaken to create each letter form using only these shapes. I set myself this task to investigate the legibility of letterforms and the scope for geometric letters using a strict set of rules.

This combination of geometric shapes naturally takes precedent from the Bauhaus [as further explained in Influences – Geometric Type II] and I also intended to create a complimentary piece to that of Wete’s Roke 1984, however unlike Wete conforming to strict rules in order and focussing on the geometric shapes themselves opposed to the transformations.

Initially a physical model was utilised, formed from translucent plastic in order to view the overlapping forms.

This was then transferred into a digital format.

Letter forms were created from overlapping translucent equally sized shapes. Two shapes were required to create each letter form, the shapes may be the same however the colour may not in order to retain the required contrast.

The end result was one of abstract letter forms, similar to the Science Museum Logo they are initially difficult to read. This explored the possibility of forming letters from the minimum possible geometric shapes.

I was interested in the idea of forming letter forms from the smallest geometric shapes. Something I would like to investigate within my final piece, the possibility of break letters down, or forming them from the smallest, simplest components.

Following this letters formed from a variety of different sized primary geometric elements were investigated. Influenced again by the Bauhaus approach to utilising simple geometric forms to create characters sets and the previously mentioned Lego am and Lego pm project. Using a variety of techniques and rules to experiment it was interesting to observe how letter forms can be seen in abstract shapes.

Following these primary investigations I decided I wanted to progress in the direction of forming a complete word from smaller geometric shapes, following more complex rules than those initially investigated here.

